Jourdanton Independent School District

Administration Building

200 Zanderson Avenue
Jourdanton, Texas 78026
Phone: (830) 769-3548 Fax: (830) 376-5052

Jourdanton Independent School District is a rural district located in Atascosa County 35 miles South of San Antonio on Highway 16. JISD has approximately 1500 students and 220 employees. The student population is about 50% Hispanic and 50% Anglo. A seven member Board of Trustees with each trustee representing a single member district governs JISD.

Special Programs offered at JISD include Title I, English as a Second Language, Gifted and Talented, Dyslexia/504, Pregnancy Related Services, Alternative Education Campuses, and Pre-kindergarten.

Some employee benefits include Workers' Compensation Insurance, Health Insurance through TRS-Active Care, Life Insurance, acceptance of transfer students, and stipends for special duties.

Through a collaborative effort among, staff, parents, and community members, Jourdanton Independent School District is committed to the following strategic priorities:

  • Provide a high quality educational environment that promotes excellence for all students
  • Maintain a safe, orderly, respectful, and drug-free educational environment
  • Effectively and appropriately capitalize on instructional resources that enhance the learning environment and improve district effectiveness
  • Provide opportunities to work in partnership by supporting District and Community goals

Jourdanton ISD Student Performance Goals:

  • By 2024, third graders will move from 37% At Meets Grade Level or Above on STAAR Reading to 52%
  • By 2024, third graders will move from 28% At Meets Grade Level or Above on STAAR Math to 45%
  • By 2024, College, Career, and Military Ready Graduates will increase from 69.1% to 75% 

JISD District Improvement Plan 2020-2021

Administration Offices:

SuperintendentTheresa McAllister
Assistant SuperintendentPepper Jo Bauerle
Business ManagerAngie Balaszi
Technology DirectorBrandy Yarbrough
Athletic DirectorDarrell Andrus
Maintenance DirectorJacob Reyna
Transportation DirectorBraden Boehme
Payroll OfficeCatherine Ryals
Accounts Payable OfficeKelsey Ferguson
Superintendent's SecretaryTricia Taylor
PEIMS CoordinatorAnna Llamas
Administrative AssistantKassandra Robles
District Technology SpecialistPreston Olle